Cam Hildreth, Rex Pflueger earn first call-ups as GB Senior Men name initial 24 -

Cam Hildreth, Rex Pflueger earn first call-ups as GB Senior Men name initial 24

24 players have been called up to the initial Great Britain Senior Men’s squad ahead of the upcoming EuroBasket 2022 Qualifiers later this month.

Wake Forest commit Cameron Hildreth has earned a first call-up to the Senior side having continued his impressive form with Worthing Thunder in NBL D1 this season, while Newcastle Eagles’ Rex Pflueger is also in line for a Senior debut.

Ben Lawson and Kareem Queeley also await Senior bows with Kavell Bigby-Williams and Akwasi Yeboah, playing his rookie pro year in France, have returned to the squad.

KBW is currently without a team and is one of four free agents amongst the squad including Teddy Okereafor and Ben Mockford, who played vital roles in the last window alongside Luke Nelson, who dropped 26 in the win over Germany.

Co-captains Dan Clark and Myles Hesson are both included as well as key front-court duo Ovie Soko and Gabe Olaseni, while Gareth Murray is not part of the squad having taken up a player-coach role at Glasgow Rocks this season, as the BBL have opted not to break for the international window.

Sacha Killeya-Jones has been included, but suffered a serious knee injury last week playing in Poland and is set for a long spell on the sidelines.

A surprise omission is Byron Mullens, who reaffirmed his desire to play for GB this season following his signing with the London Lions, however, Hoopsfix understands he was unable to play due to personal reasons in this window and is expected to be included in the February window.

It was also confirmed that Marc Steutel would continue in his role as acting head coach.

GB Senior Men’s Squad

Kavell Bigby-Williams, unattached – 6 caps
Dan Clark, Real Canoe (Spain) – 104 caps
Ashley Hamilton, Plymouth Raiders – 24 caps
Myles Hesson, Elan Chalon (France) – 41 caps
Cameron Hildreth, Worthing Thunder – 0 caps
Kyle Johnson, unattached – 83 caps
Sacha Killeya-Jones, Dabrowa Gornicza (Poland) – 8 caps
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye, Poiters (France) – 4 caps
Andrew Lawrence, Plymouth Raiders – 62 caps
Ben Lawson, Kyoto Hannaryz (Japan) – 0 caps
Ben Mockford, unattached – 39 caps
Luke Nelson, Gottingen (Germany) – 21 caps
Teddy Okereafor, unattached – 45 caps
Gabe Olaseni, Buyukcekmece (Turkey) – 36 caps
Rex Pflueger, Newcastle Eagles – 0 caps
Tarik Phillip, Hapoel Jerusalem (Israel) – 6 caps
Kareem Queeley, Burgos (Spain) – 0 caps
Justin Robinson, London Lions – 40 caps
Jacob Round, Huesca (Spain) – 1 cap
Ovie Soko, Le Mans (France) – 10 caps
Mo Soluade, Breogan (Spain) – 6 caps
Conner Washington, Leicester Riders – 8 caps
Carl Wheatle, Pistoia (Italy) – 15 caps
Akwasi Yeboah, Saint-Quentin (France) – 2 caps

GB take on France and Montenegro in the November window with both games being played in Pau, France.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *