Kent Crusaders' Lloyd Gardner Named NBL D1 Coach of the Year -

Kent Crusaders’ Lloyd Gardner Named NBL D1 Coach of the Year

Basketball England announced the annual NBL Coach of the Year awards with Lloyd Gardner claiming the top honour in Division 1.

The Kent Crusaders play-caller led his side to the playoffs title at the Senior Final Fours having also achieved a top-four finish in the league.

Gardner was at the helm for a full season for the first time, and earns the award in recognition of his success with ‘The Comeback Kids’ – a squad predominantly made-up of under-19 players.

“This is a great honour,” he told Hoopsfix. “I want to thanks the other coaches in our league that voted for me as I think there is a great group of coaches in EBL1 at this time.

“I also have to thank all those that share this award with me, my assistant coaches James (Vear) and Tope (Alli-Balogun) and the players that have worked tirelessly all year.”

London Greenhouse Pioneers’ Predrag Knerta received praise from his fellow peers as he collected the D2 Coach of the Year award having led his side to a 5th place finish in their first year in the second division.

Tony Walsh and Matt Guymon were named as Coaches of the Year in Division 3 for leading their respective teams, Liverpool and Solent Kestrels, to the North and South division titles.

EABL Championship winning Head Coach Neal Hopkins was awarded the D4 North Coach of the Year having guided Myerscough College to an 18-2 record for a second-place finish.

Full list of NBL Coaches of the Year:

Division 1 – Lloyd Gardner (Kent Crusaders)
Division 2 – Predrag Knerta (London Greenhouse Pioneers)
Division 3 North – Tony Walsh (Liverpool)
Division 3 South – Matt Guymon (Solent Kestrels)
Division 4 East Midlands – James Bamfield (CWA Fury)
Division 4 Midlands – Ross Stafford (Doncaster Danum Eagles)
Division 4 North – Neal Hopkins (Myerscough College)
Division 4 South East – Gary Smith (Sussex Bears)
Division 4 South West – Ken Walton (Oxford Brookes University)

Image credit: Ahmedphotos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *