Bryan Akanmu & Kane Daley named EABL MVPs as award winners announced -

Bryan Akanmu & Kane Daley named EABL MVPs as award winners announced

Bryan Akanmu Kane Daley EABL MVPs

Bryan Akanmu and Kane Daley were both crowned 2021-22 EABL MVPs as the league’s end-of-season awards were announced.

Myerscough’s Akanmu was amongst the top scorers in the regular season with an average of 19.4 points per game while leading them to the second seed in the North, while Daley was just behind with 19.2 points along with 9.4 rebounds per outing for Oaklands, as they won their first ever conference title in the South.

The young Wolf’s play-caller Lee Ryan picked up the Coach of the Year award from the South after leading the side to the top spot in the Conference, while Chris Bourne landed the award in the North with SGS College despite their 5-9 record and missing out on the playoffs.

There was also a Charnwood double in the North as Kanu Gudza was named Defensive Player of the Year, having led the EABL with 4.4 steals per game and Ceejay Hanson earned Most Improved.

In the South, CoLA’s big man Clemson Edomwonyin claimed the Defensive Player of the Year honour with Max Matthews, of Itchen, recognised for being Most Improved.

The U17 Players of the Year were awarded to Sheffield’s Declan Kom, who has turned heads with some of his performances this season, and Isaac Round of JMA, who, despite his age, finished with a league second best 21.1PPG.

Akanmu was joined in the Northern Conference All-First Team by a Charnwood trio in Kanu Gudza, Louie Jordan and Victor Ndoukou, along with SGS College’s Jason Soodeen.

Meanwhile, Daley headline the Southern Conference All-First Team with his teammate Oliver Wright, plus Isaac Round and Kivuvu Live from JMA, and Barking Abbey’s Stephen Asante.

The full list of award winners can be seen below:

Northern Conference

MVP: Bryan Akanmu (Myerscough)
Coach of the Year: Chris Bourne (SGS)
Defensive Player: Kanu Gudza (Charnwood)
Most Improved: Ceejay Hanson (Charnwood)
U17 Player: Declan Kom (Sheffield)

All-First Team: Bryan Akanmu (Myerscough College), Kanu Gudza (Charnwood College), Jason Sodeen (SGS College), Louie Jordan (Charnwood College), Victor Ndoukou (Charnwood College).

All-Second Team: Pedro Ellery (Myerscough College), Mandre Costa (Derby College), Charles Okafor (Sheffield college), Simeon Perry (Derby College), Josh Ijeh (James Watt College-Bmet)

Southern Conference

MVP: Kane Daley (Oaklands)
Coach of the Year: Lee Ryan (Oaklands)
Defensive Player: Clemson Edomwonyin (CoLA)
Most Improved: Max Matthews (Itchen)
U17 Player: Isaac Round (JMA)

All-First Team: Kane Daley (Oaklands College), Isaac Round (John Madejski Academy), Stephen Asante (Barking Abbey), Oliver Wright (Oaklands College), Kivuvu Live (John Madejski Academy)

All-Second Team: LA Casinillo (Itchen College), Max Matthews (Itchen College), Joe Buchanan (Barking Abbey), Talles Zacharias (Oaklands College), Ben Michaels (Copleston High School).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *