Leicester Riders Secure BBL Championship 3-Peat - Hoopsfix.com

Leicester Riders Secure BBL Championship 3-Peat

Leicester Riders wrapped up their third consecutive league title on Sunday as they built an unassailable lead with five games to go.

Rob Paternostro’s side go back-to-back-to-back after being crowned champions again following their weekend double as they beat Manchester Giants 103-60 on Saturday before a 75-104 success away at Plymouth Raiders less than 24 hours later.

“What a feeling. I am so proud of the guys and the effort. To play back-to-back games this weekend and to put on the performances like they did makes it special.

“There were a lot of people who said we had already won it, but nobody had talked like that on our team.They were focused and they did the complete job in order to get it done today.

“It’s unfortunate that we don’t have JR (Holder), Andy (Thompson) and Shane (Walker) here as they have been so incredible all season.

“They’re three great players, but in some ways, it kind of typifies the way that our season has been. We have played so many games with players down and today with three missing, the guys stepped up and came out to do exactly what they needed to do.”

“I am so proud of the fact that if we have injuries or guys missing, the bench steps up or comes through and it was fitting to win it that way,” continued Paternostro.

“It’s the first time we haven’t won it at home, but we’re looking forward to the 20th at our place when we can celebrate with the fans.

“Our fans have been unbelievable on this journey. It’s three titles in a row and four in six years and they have been a big part of that.”

Leicester have won 25 of their 28 league games so far and will be aiming for a second treble in a row as they head into the playoffs having won the BBL Trophy last month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *