ABL end of season award winners announced - Hoopsfix.com

ABL end of season award winners announced

Cameron Hildreth Holy Trinity School ABL

The end of season award winners for the 2019-20 Academy Basketball League (ABL) season have been announced, following completion of voting by opposing coaches in the leagues.

Haringey’s Ndewedo Newbury, Queen Ethelburga’s Elijah Walsh, HTS Storm’s Cameron Hildreth and St Charles’ Abiodun Adedo all pick up the respective MVP honours for their conferences after standout seasons.

Newbury recorded a league best 36.1 efficiency rating, averaging 23.4ppg, adding a league best 5.3apg and 4.0spg as he led Haringey to a 14-1 record.

Elijah Walsh led QE to 13-3 record in the North, leading the league in scoring at 34.3ppg, along with 4.8spg.

With 22.9ppg, 8.5rpg, 2.5apg, 2.2spg and a 25.8 efficiency rating, Cameron Hildreth anchored a highly talented Holy Trinity Storm roster to an unbeaten 18-0 season in the South.

The Western Conference MVP award belongs to Abiodun Adedo, averaging 17.8ppg, 8.9rpg, 1.3bpg and 1.6apg, with a final efficiency rating of 21.7 to help St Charles go 15-1 on the year.

Other honours that were awarded for each conference were the Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Most Improved Player and All-First and Second Teams, you can see all the winners listed below:

ABL 2019-20 Season Award Winners

Eastern Conference

MVP: Ndewedo Newbury (Haringey 6th Form)
Coach of the Year: Tom Sadler (Essex)
Defensive Player of the Year: Moses Gordon (New City College)
Most Improved Player: Owen Young (Haringey 6th Form)
All-First Team: Alex Distras (Haringey), Ndewedo Newbury (Haringey), Lanre Ayinla (New City College), Moses Gordon (New City College), Josh Green (Essex)
All-Second Team: Owen Young (Haringey), Riley Taylor (Essex), Tash Chawira (Long Road), Kyan Dar (Mayfield), Abdul Maliq Oke (New City)

Northern Conference

MVP: Elijah Walsh (Queen Ethelburga’s)
Coach of the Year: Josh Metcalf (Queen Ethelburga’s)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Bisungu (Nottingham)
Most Improved Player: Frank Madubuko (Aston Manor)
All-First Team: Elijah Walsh (Queen Ethelburga’s), Latrell Davis (Queen Ethelburga’s), Alex Tew (Stoke), Fin Moss (Carmel), Akol Ring (Aston Manor).
All-Second Team: Dan Kelsey (Hartlepool), Bailey England (City of Leeds), Ellis Evans (Carmel), Bayley Gaunt (Stoke), Jackson Bisungu (Nottingham)

Southern Conference

MVP: Cameron Hildreth (Holy Trinity School)
Coach of the Year: Daniel Hildreth (Holy Trinity School)
Defensive Player of the Year: Josh Otor (Holy Trinity School)
Most Improved Player: Matthew Aziamale (Holy Trinity School)
All-First Team: Cameron Hildreth (Holy Trinity School), Brandon Laryea (Holy Trinity School), Conal Parnell (The North School), James Aboaba (John Roan), Matthew Stokes (King Henry).
All-Second Team: William Bidi (HCACP), Owen Longman and Evan Longman (both Northfleet), Seal Osajivbe (John Roan), Akobuike Orlu (Norwood)

Western Conference

MVP: Abiodun Adedo (St Charles College)
Coach of the Year: Patrick Avorkliyah (St Charles College)
Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Ademola (St Charles College)
Most Improved Player: Tobi Ojuri (COHENEL)
All-First Team: Abiodun Adedo (St Charles College) and Tyler Small (St Charles College), Christian Barbieri (Harris Academy St John’s Wood), Emmanuel Omosanya (COHENEL) and Blessing Makanda (COHENEL)
All-Second Team: Karyiek Dixon (Oasis), Joseph Powell (COHENEL), Israel Olalekan and Joshua Alimi (both Capital City), Michael Ademola (St Charles)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *