NBL 2017-18 Award Winners Revealed - Hoopsfix.com

NBL 2017-18 Award Winners Revealed

NBL Award Winners 2017-18

Basketball England have revealed the individual award winners for the National Basketball League (NBL) 2017-18 season, which were voted on by coaches from each respective division.

Worthing Thunder’s Zaire Taylor picks up the NBL Division 1 MVP, having led the league in scoring (26.1ppg) and steals (3.4spg), whilst adding 5.6 assists per outing.

“It always feels good when your talent, hard work or efforts are recognised or appreciated,” Taylor said. “But to be honest, it’s not what you play the game for, the individual accolades. I play to win and maybe when the season is over or my career is over I can look back and appreciate these accomplishments on a greater level.

“But the only thing I want to accomplish in this moment is bringing a championship back to Worthing that has been long overdue.”

Loughborough Student Riders’ Mark Jarram picked up the Division 1 Coach of the Year, having led his squad – made up of young British talent – to the league title with a 20-4 record.

“This was a very competitive season and it’s really special to be recognised by your coaching peers,” Jarram said. “These awards are always about so many more people. Huge thanks and massive credit to all the players and staff who support and help contribute to all our achievements this season. It’s been a lot of fun and created some lifetime memories.”

In Division 2, Martelle McLemore took home MVP honours after an impressive season with Thames Valley Cavaliers that saw him lead the league in scoring at 24.4ppg, and his squad finish seconds in league play at 18-4.

Liverpool’s Delme Herriman picked up Coach of the Year, as his squad finished third in the league with a 15-7 record.

Ray Akpofure of Greenwich Titans and Loughborough’s Niall Harris took home the Division Three South and North MVP’s respectively, with Myerscough’s Neal Hopkins – whose young side finished atop of the North going 15-3, and East London’s Joshua Tackle claiming Coach of the Year honours.

In Division 4, Sheffield’s Atif Khan (North), Team Derby’s Dan Watts (Midlands), BC Medelynas’ Mantas Guzys (South East) and RCT’s Rhys Williams (South West) were honoured with MVP awards, whilst Calderdale’s Jim Fry (North), Derby’s Kyle Henderson (Midlands), Barking Abbey’s James Vear (South East) and Bristol’s Ehjaz Khan (South West) were crowned conference Coach of the Years.

For the first time, Basketball England introduced awards for off-court activity in Division 1 and 2 Men; Best Team Secretary, Best Game Day Experience, Best Social Media, and Best Commentator – which you can find below.

Full List of Award Winners

Division One Men

Most Valuable Player: Zaire Taylor, Worthing Thunder
Coach of the Year: Mark Jarram, Loughborough Student Riders

Division Two Men

Most Valuable Player: Martelle McLemore, Thames Valley Cavaliers
Coach of the Year: Delme Herriman, Liverpool

Division Three Men

North, Most Valuable Player: Niall Harris, Loughborough Student Riders II
North, Coach of the Year: Neal Hopkins, Myerscough College
South, Most Valuable Player: Ray Akpofure, Greenwich Titans
South, Coach of the Year: Joshua Tackie, East London All Stars

Division Four Men

North, Most Valuable Player: Atif Khan, Sheffield Sabres
North, Coach of the Year: Jim Fry, Calderdale Explorers
Midlands, Most Valuable Player: Dan Watts, Team Derby
Midlands, Coach of the Year: Kyle Henderson, Derby Trailblazers II
South-East, Most Valuable Player: Mantas Guzys, BC Medelynas London
South-East, Coach of the Year: James Vear, Barking Abbey
South-West, Most Valuable Player: Rhys Williams, RCT Gladiators
South-West, Coach of the Year: Ehjaz Khan, Bristol Academy Flyers II

Other Award Winners

Division One Men

Fans’ Player of the Year: TBC, Awaiting Fan Vote
Best Team Secretary: Lin Titmuss, Hemel Storm
Best Game Day Experience: Worthing Thunder
Best Social Media: Worthing Thunder
Best Commentator: Dave Marshall, Worthing Thunder

Division Two Men

Fans’ Player of the Year: TBC, Awaiting Fan Vote
Best Team Secretary: Dave Ryan, Essex Leopards
Best Game Day Experience: Nottingham Hoods
Best Social Media: Thames Valley Cavaliers
Best Commentator: Phil Cain, Liverpool

Final List of Regular Season Statistical Leaders

Division One Men

Scoring Leader: Zaire Taylor (Worthing Thunder) 26.1ppg
Rebound Leader: Tim Gill (Reading Rockets) 12.5rpg
Assists Leader: Kayne King (Derby Trailblazers) 7.0apg
Steals Leader: Zaire Taylor (Worthing Thunder) 3.4spg
Blocks Leader: Lee Goldsbrough (Manchester Magic) 1.5bpg
Three-Point Leader: Jerrod Hendricks (Reading Rockets) 3.6 threes per game

Division Two Men

Scoring Leader: Martelle McLemore (Thames Valley Cavaliers) 24.4ppg
Rebound Leader: Joseph Baugh (Derbyshire Arrows) 10.4rpg
Assists Leader: Jack Hudson (Liverpool) 5.8apg
Steals Leader: Rabi Rai (Ipswich) 3.3spg
Blocks Leader: Mbombo Yegba (London Westside) 2.2bpg
Three-Point Leader: Modestas Krasauskas (Middlesex LTBC) 4.3 threes per game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *