GB Announce Senior Women's Squad for Belarus Tournament -

GB Announce Senior Women’s Squad for Belarus Tournament

British Basketball have named a 14-player squad list for the upcoming Senior Women’s camp and tournament in Belarus.

Chema Buceta’s side have their first camp from 15-20 May before heading to Belarus for a tournament involving the hosts’ Senior and Under-20* sides as well as Argentina from 21-25 May.

“This is the first activity of the new campaign of the GB Senior National Team,” commented Buceta.

“This will be an important experience to improve the level of the team and an opportunity to see new players at international level.

“Thank you to all the players who have accepted this new challenge for their generous commitment to the team.”

Over half of the squad have spent the season playing in the WBBL with Barking Abbey’s Abigail Johnson also named as part of the squad – though referred to as an Under-20 guest player.

GB Squad

Stef Collins, Cardiff Met Archers
Rachael Vanderwal, Mann Filter Zaragoza (Spain)
Christina Gaskin, Barking Abbey Crusaders
Janice Monakana, University of Toledo (US)
Melita Emanuel-Carr, University of Illinois at Chicago (US)
Azania Stewart, Campus Promete (Spain)
Chantelle Handy, Piestanske Cajky (Slovakia)
Mollie Campbell, Leicester Riders
Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee, Team Northumbria
Erin McGarrachan, Leicester Riders
Georgia Gayle, Sheffield Hatters
Eilidh Simpson, Sant Adria (Spain)
Jamila Thompson, Leicester Riders
Hannah Shaw, Nottingham Wildcats
Abigail Johnson**, Barking Abbey Crusaders

**U20 guest player
* Update: Croatia originally named – but an Under-20 side will participate, as per BBF release

Tournament Schedule

Tuesday May 23

16.00 – GB – Argentina

17.45 – Opening ceremony

18.30 – Belarus U20 – Belarus

Wednesday May 24

16.00 – Belarus U20 – GB

18.30 – Argentina – Belarus

Thursday May 25

16.00 – Belarus U20 – Argentina

18.30 – GB – Belarus

20.15 – Closing ceremony

Times listed are local time (2 hours ahead of UK time).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *