Manchester Magic Secure League Title for D1 Treble -

Manchester Magic Secure League Title for D1 Treble

Manchester Magic are the NBL Division 1 league champions for the first time since 2007-08 after wrapping up the title with victory against Bradford Dragons, on Saturday.

Paul Middleton’s side eased their way to a 70-42 success for their 14th consecutive league victory as they build an unassailable lead at the top with an impressive 22-1 record with a clean sweep now in sight ahead of the playoffs.

Magic’s wait to secure the league title was shortened earlier this week as Lancashire Spinners decided to forfeit their fixture with Manchester – a decision which was explained by the club’s GM Ken Masser in an open letter to the fans.

Manchester have just one blemish on their record in D1 this season having been beaten 77-79 by London Lituanica at the end of November, and also lost their opening Trophy encounter with Lancashire at the start of the campaign.

Since that loss, the club has embarked on a stunning unbeaten run; claiming the National Cup and National Trophy titles for the second year running and secure the league title with games to spare ahead of the playoffs.

Simon Anumba top scored with 16 points off the bench in the win against Bradford in another balanced scoring attack from Manchester.

Even with defeat, Magic would still had been crowned league champions as Derby Trailblazers suffered a narrow loss on the road in their final regular season game.

Also, Solent Kestrels defeated Loughborough Student Riders 72-57 to wrap up the Division 2 title with all NBL division titles now decided. Here is the full list of winners:

Division 1– Manchester Magic
Division 2– Solent Kestrels
Division 3– Team Newcastle University (North); Thames Valley Cavaliers (South)
NBDL– Gateshead Phoenix (N-East); University of Chester (N-West); Sussex Bears (South); Greenwich Titans (S-East); Cardiff Met Archers (S-West)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *