GB Confirm Seven Debuts in Final Roster to Play New Zealand -

GB Confirm Seven Debuts in Final Roster to Play New Zealand

Great Britain’s Senior Men squad to play New Zealand on Saturday has been cut to 12 with over half of the roster set to make their senior debut.

Alex Young, Teddy Okereafor, Joe Hart, Will Saunders, Robert Gilchrist, Ovie Soko and Zak Wells will all make their GB Senior debuts at the Copper Box.

GB still have plenty of experience with the likes of Kieron Achara, Dan Clark and Drew Sullivan all part of the squad with Sullivan winning his 100th cap.

Justin Robinson picked up an injury during camp while Andrew Lawrence’s recovery from injury is still an ongoing process with Christian Behrens, Fahro Alihodzic, Chris Caird, Paul Guede and Ali Fraser the other five players who miss out on the final roster.

“I’m really happy that the guys made it such a difficult decision to get down to 12 players,” said GB Head Coach, Joe Prunty.

“Every player that came to camp can be very proud of what they achieved.

“The guys that aren’t in the 12 for tomorrow played very well.

“It’s just a matter of only being able to have 12 guys suit up for the game,” added the play-caller.

The squad in full:

Kieron Achara (Glasgow Rocks)
Dan Clark (Andorra, SPA)
Robert Gilchrist (Karlsruhe, GER)*
Joe Hart (Penas Huesca, SPA)*
Myles Hesson (Dijon, FRA)
Ben Mockford (Caceres, SPA)
Teddy Okereafor (Rider University, USA)
Will Saunders (Charleston Southern University, USA)
Ovie Soko (Boulazac, FRA)*
Drew Sullivan (Leicester Riders, GBR)
Zak Wells (Leeds Force, GBR)
Alex Young (University of California-Irvine, USA)

*team last season

GB take on New Zealand at the Copper Box this Saturday with the game tipping off at 6pm.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *