EBL Players & Coaches of the Year Announced

England Basketball has announced the National League Players and Coaches of the Year for 2013/14.

These selections were made based on votes cast by teams in the senior national leagues. In leagues where an insufficient amount of votes were tallied by teams, selections were made by England Basketball.

Leading the way in Division 1 Men is Joshua Wilcher, the second straight season a Reading Rockets point guard takes the honour. The Australian led Reading to National Cup and Division 1 league titles and has helped see them through to the Final Fours in Manchester. Wilcher is amongst the league leaders in points and assists and takes the award a season after former Reading guard Luke Nelson was the winner.

Adrian Ritchie is the Division 1 Women Player of the Year as voted by her peers. The Nottingham Wildcats player has filled the scoring column up for a Wildcats side who finished runners up in Division 1, earning a place in the Final Fours at the end of April.

On the coaching side, Chris Mellor was selected as Coach of the Year in Division 1 Men for his work with Bradford Dragons. Coach Mellor led his Dragons team through a strong season where they finished with a 17-9 record and will appear in their first Final Four tournament in Manchester.

Two Nottingham Wildcats club members take honours home in Division 1 Women as Dave Greenaway is the recipient of the 2013/14 Coach of the Year. Greenaway led Nottingham to their second straight league runner-up position in Division 1 and they are again heading to the Final Fours.

In the Men’s second division, Darren Best from Killamarsh Derbyshire Arrows was selected as the Player of the Year. Best averaged well into double figure scoring, hitting at least 30 points in eleven Arrows’ league games with a season high of 45.

James Maudsley from Derby Trailblazers is the Division 2 Men’s Coach of the Year. Coach Maudsley rebounded from relegation to lead Blazers to the Division 2 title and will make an appearance in the 2014 Playoff Final in Manchester.

The full list of Players and Coaches of the Year for the senior England Basketball Leagues is outlined below.

Senior EBL Players of the Year

Division 1 Men: Joshua Wilcher, Reading Rockets
Division 1 Women: Adrian Ritchie, Nottingham Wildcats
Division 2 Men: Darren Best, Killamarsh Derbyshire Arrows
Division 2 Women (North): Katie Bergeron, Leeds Carnegie
Division 2 Women (Midlands – South West): Catherine Lutz, Reading Rockets
Division 2 Women (Midlands – South East): Ashley Trebilcock, Team Solent Suns
Division 3 Men (North): Jason Tucker, Northants Thunder
Division 3 Men (South): Karolis Stepanavicius, London Lituanica
Division 4 Men (North): Tomas Grigaliunas, Kingston Panthers
Division 4 Men (Midlands): Kieran Jones, Newcastle Under Lyme Knights
Division 4 Men (Midlands – South West): Chris Petzy, Oxford Brookes University
Division 4 Men (South East): Tadas Bagdonas, BC Medelynas

Senior EBL Coaches of the Year

Division 1 Men: Chris Mellor, Bradford Dragons
Division 1 Women: Dave Greenaway, Nottingham Wildcats
Division 2 Men: James Maudsley, Derby Trailblazers
Division 2 Women (North): Mark Gunn, Leeds Carnegie
Division 2 Women (Midlands – South West): Clarence Hicks, Oxford Women
Division 2 Women (Midlands – South East): Steve Vear, LSBU Brixton Topcats
Division 3 Men (North): Ken Masser, Rossendale Raptors
Division 3 Men (South): Domas Solo, London Lituanica
Division 4 Men (North): Tony Walsh, Liverpool
Division 4 Men (Midlands): Shawn Jamison, Newcastle Under Lyme Knights
Division 4 Men (Midlands – South West): Ken Walton, Oxford Brookes University
Division 4 Men (South East): Pete Charlwood, Cambridge Cats

Players of the Year Runners-Up

D1 Women: Jess Jenkins, Cardiff Archers
D2 Women (North): Rachel Clayden, Bury Blue Devils
D2 Women (Midlands-SW): Alice Walton, Oxford Women
D2 Women (Midlands-SE): Rochell Davids, LSBU Brixton Topcats

D1 Men: Bode Adeluola, Hemel Storm
D2 Men: Dan Watts, Derby Trailblazers
D3 Men (North): Steven Gayle, Rossendale Raptors
D3 Men (South): Tyrell Isaacs, London Greenhouse Pioneers
D4 Men (North): John Stewart, Hull Wasps
D4 Men (Midlands): Ashley Ugo, Leicester Warriors II
D4 Men (Midlands-South West): Adam Rickwood, Milton Keynes Mustangs
D4 Men (South East): Algirdas Matusaitis, BC Medelynas

Coaches of the Year Runners-Up

D1 Women: Josh Merrington, Team Northumbria
D2 Women (North): Krumesh Patel, Loughborough Student Riders II
D2 Women (Midlands-SW): Jimmy Bower, Cardiff Archers II
D2 Women (Midlands-SE): CJ Lee, Team Solent Suns

D1 Men: Manuel Pena Garces, Reading
D2 Men: Nick Drane, Ipswich
D3 Men (North): Garnet Gayle, Sheffield Saints & Mal Casson, Sefton
D3 Men (South): Matt Guymon, Solent Kestrels
D4 Men (North): Matthew Fawcett, Hull Wasps
D4 Men (Midlands): Tahir Hajat, Leicester Warriors II
D4 Men (Midlands-South West): Aurimas Kolesnikovas, Middlesex LTBC
D4 Men (South East): James Potter, Brentwood Fire & James Bamfield, College of West Anglia Fury


(To be updated).

  • Goober

    Matt Guymon has proved he has great coaching chops yet again by leading Solent Kestrels Men’s Team to the Division 3 semi-final (without Louie Kirkman their top rebounder and big scorer for the last few games of the season) and also coaching the Solent Kestrels Under 18s to the Final Fours after a brilliant tactical win against Birmingham in the Quarter Finals at the weekend.

    • Zach

      Coached against Matt with about one half’s worth of sucess this year, did an excellent job.

  • Ref

    The EBL awards are in many cases a complete waste of time. Voted for by the coaches of the teams. A lot of people are not honest, they won’t vote for the people that deserve it but instead vote for the people they like or avoid voting for the people they don’t like….. Plus, with little of no stats from EB how can people truely tell what players have been doing across the whole season?

  • Josh

    To tell who is the best you need to know where they started, where they got to, then look at game performances, who is actually coaching, making in game decisions, changing tempos, defenses etc
    This will never happen so its just a token set of awards. How does Manuel Pena Garces not win in? The guy has won it all and has dealt with injuries to players all year.

  • JohnB

    I see from the EB league tables that a couple of teams, especially in the junior league, have won all their games.

    I would have thought that this would provide sufficient evidence to suggest the coaches of these teams deserved recognition.

    I would agree that he voting / award system is very flawed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.