Hoopsfix EBL 2013/14 Season Awards - Hoopsfix.com

Hoopsfix EBL 2013/14 Season Awards

These are the Hoopsfix awards for the 2013/14 EBL season. The selections were made by James Quinn who covers all things EBL at Hoopsfix.com and are not related to the awards recently handed out by England Basketball.

EBL Division 1

The title of the Hoopfsix Division 1 player of the year is awarded to Reading Rockets Australian import Josh Wilcher. The Point Guard led his team to a domestic treble this season winning EBL Division 1, The National Cup and National Trophy this season while being one of the most consistently high scoring and assisting players in the league.

Following behind Wilcher in the runner-up spot is Howard Crawford of the Essex Leopards who has been the most dominant big man in the league this season averaging 20.1ppg and 15.6rpg, while leading Essex to a second place finish in the league this season.

The Hoopsfix Coach of the Year goes to Coach Manuel Pena Garces of the Reading Rockets who led his team to a domestic treble in his first season in charge and has the chance to take a fourth title of the season when his Rockets side appear in the Division 1 Final Fours in Manchester on the 26th & 27th April.

The runner-up spot goes to Coach Chris Mellor of the Bradford Dragons, a side who were not predicted to challenge for honours this season but found themselves still able to win the Division 1 championship with a month remaining in the season. Their fourth place finish in the league and Playoff semi-final berth against Champions Reading earns Coach Mellor a mention here.

Hoopsfix All-Division 1 Team of the Year

Josh wilcher (Reading Rockets)
Dan Foley (Bradford Dragons)
Bode Adeluola (Hemel Storm)
Gabriel Diaz-Morera (Reading Rockets)
Howard Crawford (Essex Leopards)

Jorge Ebanks (Tees Valley Mohawks)
Greg Streets (Bristol Academy Flyers)
Branimir Mikulic (Leeds Carnegie)
Sherrad Prezzie-Blue (Leicester Warriors)
Franc Garcia-Garrido (Manchester Magic)

EBL Division 2

With season averages of 19ppg, 17.5rpg and 4.8apg, Derby’s Alex Dorr is your Hoopsfix Division 2 Player of the Year. The former University of Mary Marauder was by far the most dominant player in the league and is the clear choice for the award. Derby will appear in the Playoff Final against Ipswich on April 27th in Manchester.

The runner-up position was more difficult to choose however I feel a worthy selection is Darren Best of the Killimarsh Derbyshire Arrows. The Australian forward led the league in scoring, had eleven games with 30+ points and a season high of 45. Arrows playoff berth is without doubt down to the huge role played by Best this season.

The king of the Xs and Os in Division 2 this season is Coach Nick Drane of the Ipswich Basketball Club, who is awarded the Hoopsfix EBL Division 2 Coach of the Year award for guiding his team of young British talent to a 3rd place finish in the league, a Patrons Cup Final appearance and a place in the Playoff Final in just their first season in Division 2. With the league entries for next season still undecided due to potential promotions to the BBL, Ipswich may well have done enough to earn themselves a spot in EBL Division 2 for next season.

The runner-up award goes to Eduardo Perez of the Huddersfield Heat who’s side gained promotion to EBL Division 1 with a second place finish in the league and also won the Patrons Cup in their first season in Division 2. Back to back promotions made Coach Perez an easy choice for this one.

Hoopsfix All Division 2 Team of the Year

Josh Johnson (Ipswich Basketball Club)
Julio Sosa (Huddersfield Heat)
Darren Best (Killimarsh Derbyshire Arrows)
Alex Dorr (Derby Trailblazers)
Leigh Greenan (Ipswich Basketball Club)

John Gould (Derby Trailblazers)
Vytenis Petkus (Brixton Topcats)
Miguel Moina (Huddersfield Heat)
Tom Sadler (Ipswich Basketball Club)
RB Clyburn (Mansfield Giants)
Dan Watts (Derby Trailblazers)
Nick Crowder (Huddersfield Heat)

EBL Division 3 North

In the Northern Conference, Steven Gayle of the Rossendale Raptors led the league in scoring to claim the Hoopsfix EBL Division 3 North Player of the year, closely followed by Northants Thunder’s Jason Tucker in the runner-up spot.

On the coaching side the Hoopsfix EBL Division 3 North Coach of the Year award goes to Rob Eddon of the Northants Thunder who almost led his side to back to back promotions before being pipped at the post on the last day by the Birmingham Mets and finished in 3rd place. The runner-up spot goes to Ken Masser of the Rossendale Raptors.

EBL Division 3 South

The Hoopsfix EBL Division 3 South Player of the year award winner was by far the hardest to choose. This player almost lost the award with his actions after the buzzer in the playoff final loss but his outstanding dominance this season means he cannot be overlooked for this award. Karolis Stepanavicius is the Player of the year after guiding London Lituanica to a Conference Championship and National Shield along with a 24-1 record for the season.

The runner-up spot goes to the young man who stopped Stepanavicius in the playoff final with his clutch game winner and led his team to a 2nd place finish in the league, Tyrell Isaacs of the London Greenhouse Pioneers.

The Hoopsfix EBL Division 3 Coach of the year award goes to Pedrag Krneta of the London Greenhouse Pioneers who is followed in close second by Domas Solo of London Lituanica.

EBL Division 4

North Player of the Year – John Stewart (Hull Wasps)
North Coach of the Year – Tony Walsh (Liverpool)

Midlands Player of the Year – Kieran Jones (NULC Knights)
Midlands Coach of the Year – Shawn Jamison (NULC Knights)

South East Player of the Year – Tamas Bagdonas (BC Medelynas)
South East Coach of the Year – Vilius Jastremskas

Midlands South West Player of the Year – Chris Petzy (Oxford Brookes)
Midlands South West Coach of the Year – Ken Walton (Oxford Brookes)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *