Sharks Upset Riders to Win BBL Trophy

Sheffield Sharks had one of the upset victories of the season on Saturday, beating Leicester Riders 71-69 to take home the BBL Trophy at the Emirates Arena, Glasgow.

Riders had beaten the Sharks by no less than 16 points on four occasions this season, but this time around Sheffield had different ideas, in a game that was won by two BJ Holmes free throws with ten seconds to play. It was Holmes’ who was named MVP, finishing with 25 points, 7 rebounds and 3 assists.

Demetrius Jemison added 15 points and 7 rebounds for the Sharks, whilst the league-leading Riders were led by Jay Couisnard’s 21 points.

It is 15 years since the last and only time that the Sharks have won the BBL Trophy, and is their third piece of silverware in the last four seasons.

Box score.

Did you watch the game? Thoughts?

Image Credit: Ville Vuorenin

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.