Louie Tucker, Neda Cholevinskas take MVP as EABL award winners announced - Hoopsfix.com

Louie Tucker, Neda Cholevinskas take MVP as EABL award winners announced

Louie Tucker Nedas Cholevinskas EABL MVPs

SGS College’s Louie Tucker and Barking Abbey’s Nedas Cholevinskas have earned the EABL North and South Conference MVPs respectively, as the league announced the regular season award winners this week.

Tucker returned from a stint in the States to lead the EABL standings in efficiency (22.0) and scoring (25.6 ppg), coming in eighth for rebounding (9.8rpg) and 3PT% (36.2%), as SGS went 8-5 on the season but missed out on a playoff spot.

Cholevinskas led BA to an 11-1 record atop of the South, averaging 15 points and 7.8 rebounds with 16 efficiency.

It was Myerscough’s Stephen Asante who picked up Defensive Player of the Year in the North, and CoLA’s Clemson Edomwonyin in the South, who also doubled up with the Most Improve Player of the Year.

Derby’s 6’7″ forward Elliot Lawrence got most improved in the North, while U17 Player of the Year honours were claimed by Manchester’s Matthew Goodwin and Canterbury’s Tim Oboh.

With the all-conference teams, in the North, MVP Tucker is joined by Sheffield’s Declan Kom (22 ppg), Myerscough’s Peter Asante (10.9 ppg, 4.2 apg) and Manchester duo Joe Buchanan (19.9 ppg) and Ben Brown (17.9 ppg) in the First team.

In the second team, Charnwood trio Lane Campbell (17.6ppg), Lamarana Diallo (16.3ppg) and Edward Onyia (13.4ppg) are joined by Matthew Good Goodwin (20.1ppg, 3.1spg) and Myerscough’s Denilson Caschili (11.4ppg, 5.8rpg).

In the South, Cholevinskas is joined by BA team-mate Michael Amako (13.9ppg, 50% 3PTFG), CoLA duo Edomwonyin (10.2ppg, 8.9rpg, 1.8bpg) and Di-Jani Parkinson (13.2ppg, 6.9rpg, 3.8apg) and Itchen’s Tyler Fairbairn (16.9ppg).

While on the second team JMA’s Ashley Kitchen (20.4ppg) is joined by CoLA’s Max Coupe (14.8ppg), Tim Oboh (11.6ppg, 8.1rpg), BA captain Jamari Seri (10.1ppg, 2.2spg) and Itchen guard Zak Missouri (9.4ppg, 4.2apg) rounding out the five.

For the coaches, Derby’s Matt Shaw picked up his fourth Coach of the Year award, as his roster went 9-5, while CoLA’s Jay Williams earned his first award while leading CoLA to a 10-2 record for second in the South.

EABL 2022-23 Award Winners

North Conference

MVP: Louie Tucker (SGS College)
Defensive Player of the Year: Stephen Asante (Myerscough)
Most Improved Player: Elliot Lawrence (Derby)
U17 Player of Year: Matthew Goodwin (Manchester)
First Team: Declan Kom (Sheffield), Louie Tucker (SGS), Peter Asante (Myerscough), Joe Buchanan (Manchester), Ben Brown (Manchester)
Second Team: Lane Campbell (Charnwood), Matthew Goodwin (Manchester), Lamarana Diallo (Charnwood), Denilson Caschili (Myerscough), Edward Onyia (Charnwood).
Coach of the Year: Matt Shaw (Derby College)

South Conference

MVP: Nedas Cholevinskas (Barking Abbey)
Defensive Player of the Year: Clemson Edomwonyin (CoLA)
Most Improved Player: Clemson Edomwonyin (CoLA)
U17 Player of the Year: Tim Oboh (Canterbury)
First Team: Nedas Cholevinskas (Barking Abbey, Tyler Fairburn (Itchen), Michael Amako (Barking Abbey), Clemson Edomwonyin (CoLA), Di-Jani Parkinson (CoLA)
Second Team: Max Coupe (CoLA), Tim Oboh (Canterbury), Ashley Kitchen (JMA), Jamari Seri (Barking Abbey), Zak Missouri (Itchen)
Coach of the Year: Jay Williams (CoLA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *