Isobel Robinson, Faye Endean headline 2022-23 WEABL awards -

Isobel Robinson, Faye Endean headline 2022-23 WEABL awards

Isobel Robinson Faye Endean WEABL Awards

Manchester’s Isobel Robinson and Itchen’s Faye Endean have picked up their respective conference MVP honours following the announcement of the 2022-23 WEABL award winners.

Robinson helped Manchester to a 6-3 record and second spot in the North, while impressively, also picking up U17 Player of the Year. She had the league’s second-highest efficiency at 23.6, plus a WEABL third-highest 25.2ppg to go with 8.3rpg.

Meanwhile, Endean had a standout season where she averaged 14.2 points, 4.8 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 3 steals per game, as Itchen finished 5-4.

Robinson’s teammate Daisy Bryan picks up Defensive Player of the Year in the North (7.9drpg, 1spg, 1bpg), while Christabel Osarobo took home the award in the South (4.6drpg, 2.6spg, 0.5bpg), while also being named Most Improved Player.

Nottingham’s Alina Riley took home Most Improved Player in the North (12.4ppg and 3.3rpg), while Copleston’s Louisa Gibbons was named U17 Player of the Year in the South (9.6ppg and 8.8rpg).

When it came to the all-conference teams, in the South MVP Endean is joined by Copleston’s Liv Forster (23.5ppg), Barking’s Fatmata Janneh (19.8pp, 10.0rpg), and CoLA duo Emily O’Connell (15.9ppg) and Ana-Isabel Andersson (10.6ppg, 4.8apg).

The South Conference Second Team consists of Copleston Teammates Christabel Osarobo and Saruna Gudza, Itchen teammates Anna Nevison and Erin Caldwell, along with CoLA’s Ebere Egbirika.

In the North, MVP Robinson is joined by Manchester team-mate Alejandra Escriva-Gay (4.4apg), Nottingham’s Natalie Charity (20ppg, league leading 8.2apg), Charnwood’s Erin Powell, and Sheffield’s Erica Egan (17.8PPG) on the First Team.

Nottingham teammates Macy Cook and Yemisi Mefful, along with Charnwood’s Alex Shaw, Manchester’s Jo Vourliotis and Sheffield Steph Oliver make up the second team.

For the coaches, Jackson Gibbons was once against named Coach of the Year in the South; since the WEABL began in 2015/16, Gibbons has collected all but one of the awards for his work, with only the 2017/18 honour eluding him. CoLA went 9-1 atop of the South.

In the North, Manchester play caller Rob Fairley took the award after a 6-3 second place finish.

WEABL 2022-23 Award Winners

North Conference

MVP: Isobel Robinson (Manchester Mystics)
Defensive Player of the Year: Daisy Bryan (Manchester Mystics)
Most Improved Player: Alina Riley (Nottingham)
U17 Player of Year: Isobel Robinson (Manchester Mystics)
First Team: Isobel Robinson (Manchester), Alejandra Escriva-Gay (Manchester), Natalie Charity (Nottingham), Erin Powell (Charnwood), Erica Egan (Sheffield)
Second Team: Macy Cook (Nottingham), Yemisi Mefful (Nottingham), Alex Shaw (Charnwood), Jo Vourliotis (Manchester), Steph Oliver (Sheffield)
Coach of the Year: Rob Fairley (Manchester)

South Conference

MVP: Faye Endean (Itchen College)
Defensive Player of the Year: Christabel Osarobo (Copleston)
Most Improved Player: Christabel Osarobo (Copleston)
U17 Player of the Year: Louisa Gibbons (Copleston)
First Team: Faye Endean (Itchen), Olivia Forster (Copleston), Fatmata Janneh (Barking Abbey), Emily O’Connell (CoLA), Ana-Isabel Andersson (CoLA)
Second Team: Christabel Osarobo (Copleston), Saruna Gudza (Copleston), Anna Nevison (Itchen), Erin Caldwell (Itchen), Ebere Egbirika (CoLA)
Coach of the Year: Jackson Gibbons (CoLA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *