Initial Great Britain Under-18 Squad Announced -

Initial Great Britain Under-18 Squad Announced

The initial Great Britain Under-18 Men’s squad of fourteen players has been named as the team prepare for the Division A European Championships, after a Silver medal winning campaign in Division B last summer.

They will be coached by Alan Keane, who has been confirmed as returning to the helm of the team for the 2018 campaign.

Jacob Round, Hosana Kitenge and Nathan Robinson all return from that promotion-winning squad, and are expected to help form the core of the team, which will be boosted by the addition of last summer’s GB Under-16 leading trio Mate Okros, Tomiwa Sulaiman and Eric Donaldson. Their Under-16 squad agonisingly missed out on promotion with a fourth-place finish.

Real Madrid’s Kareem Queeley re-enters the fray, after a summer off from international duty last year, whilst Jonathan Brown, fresh off an EABL East Conference MVP season, also makes the squad, and sharp-shooter Robert Banks, the NBL D2 Playoff Finals MVP with Thames Valley, and Manchester Magic’s Arinze Emeka-Anyakwo are also included.

Callan Low is the sole Scottish representative, fresh off being the youngest player with the Senior Men at the Commonwealth Games, whilst Nathaniel Delaney-Powell, Conroy Hayden and Tosan Evbuomwan will be looking to make their first European Championship squad.

Ten of the fourteen players have played in the Hoopsfix All-Star Classic.

Initial GB Under-18 Squad 2018

Robert Banks, Thames Valley Cavaliers
Jonathan Brown, Kent Crusaders
Nathaniel Delaney-Powell, Barking Abbey Crusaders
Eric Donaldson, Antioch High School (US)
Arinze Emeka-Anyakwo, Manchester Magic
Tosan Evbuomwan, Newcastle Eagles
Conroy Hayden, Aston Manor Academy
Hosana Kitenge, Loughborough Student Riders
Callan Low, Myerscough College
Mate Okros, Myerscough College
Kareem Queeley, Real Madrid
Nathan Robinson, Las Lomas High School (US)
Jacob Round, CB Fuenlabrada (Spain)
Tomiwa Sulaiman, Academy

Head Coach: Alan Keane
Assistant Coach: Ian Macleod
Assistant Coach: Mark Jarram
Physiotherapist: Mark Dayson
Team Manager: Peter Daines

The 2018 Division A European Championships will take place in Latvia from July 28-August 5, as GB are in Group D with Lithuania, Montenegro and Serbia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *