Team Northumbria Secure NBL D1 Title -

Team Northumbria Secure NBL D1 Title

Team Northumbria have wrapped up the NBL Division 1 title after recording back-to-back victories on the road at the weekend.

Marc Steutel’s side snapped the 19-game win streak of Reading Rockets with a 64-76 triumph before beating Westminster Warriors 62-81 on Sunday to seal top spot.

Northumbria went into Sunday’s game knowing victory was enough to wrap up the title having already had the head-to-head advantage over both Reading Rockets and Manchester Magic.

However, their closest rivals both lost anyway with Reading falling to Loughborough Riders, while Magic were beaten by Derby Trailblazers and both sides meet next Saturday to decide second place.

Malcolm Smith top scored with 24 points in the road success over Reading before leading his side with 22 points as they powered past relegated Westminster in the third en route to the win.

Their final game is against Solent Kestrels next week before they head into the playoffs – starting on the opening weekend of April – as the top seeds.

Northumbria complete a season double having also won the National Cup title back in January when they defeated Solent Kestrels 73-56 at the University of Worcester Arena.

Past D1 Winners:
2015-16 – Manchester Magic (23-3)
2014-15 – Essex Leopards (18-6)
2013-14 – Reading Rockets (22-4)
2012-13 – Reading Rockets (22-4)
2011-12 – London Leopards (20-4)
2010-11 – Bristol Flyers (15-3)
2009-10 – Derby Trailblazers (17-5)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *