FIBA Confirm Home Nations to Compete as GB From 2016 -

FIBA Confirm Home Nations to Compete as GB From 2016

FIBA have today confirmed that the home nations will rescind their individual memberships to all unite as Great Britain under the British Basketball Federation as of 1st October, 2016.

The international governing body approved the request at their latest Board meeting in Tokyo at the weekend with the plan having long been in place post-2012 Olympics.

It means that England, Wales and Scotland will no longer compete in international competitions as separate nations – with the exception of Scotland’s under-16 team until 2020 – with GB fielding teams at under-16 and under-18 level.

With the change happening over a year from now, the home nations will still take part in the various European Championships next summer before joining as one.

Wales agreed to join the British Basketball Federation in November having initially been against the idea of merging as GB.

Meanwhile, FIBA also confirmed that 32 European teams will compete for 12 available spots at the 2019 FIBA World Cup in China.

There will be a total of 80 teams in a newly formed Division A made up of teams across four continents while the rest of all registered teams will compete in Division B.

GB are currently ranked as the 11th best team in Europe as they sit in 22nd place in the official FIBA World Rankings.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: key1 geo1 | key5, geo1 | key3, geo1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *