Newcastle Eagles Claim Seventh BBL Championship -

Newcastle Eagles Claim Seventh BBL Championship

Newcastle Eagles wrapped up the 2014-15 BBL Championship after beating Manchester Giants 107-97, on Wednesday night at Sport Central.

The win – their 31st of the campaign – saw them crowned league champions for the seventh time as Fab Flournoy’s men took a step closer to achieving another clean sweep.

“I feel so much joy and this is a landmark moment in my estimation of everything that I have achieved,” said Flournoy. “Really – I can’t express the amount of joy I feel.

“These recent games started to look shaky from many standpoints, but the commitment from this special group was unbelievable.

“To have a run of winning as much as we have had over a 10 year period and to have more than 20 trophies is incredible.

“But we want to continue this legacy and all the team and the club wants to do now is to keep on winning.”

Again, Newcastle were under-manned with Darius Defoe and Andre Jones on the sidelines along with player-coach Flournoy, although Drew Lasker did return to take up the role as sixth man.

Charles Smith put in another 40-minute shift and led the Eagles with 27 points, while Thomson brothers, Stuart and Andy, added 23 and 22 points respectively, while Scott Martin also hit the 20-point mark.

Guard Rahmon Fletcher was the orchestrator as he so often is, and the American dished out 13 assists to go with his 11 points, while Lasker added 4 from the bench.

The victory means that Leicester Riders are confirmed as the number 2 seeds having won their last eleven games in the league.

Manchester could still make the playoffs, but will need to win both of their remaining games should Bristol Flyers beat Leeds Force on Saturday.

With the league title secured, the clean sweep is a distinct possibility, but there will be seven other teams hoping to prove otherwise.

Image credit: Newcastle Eagles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *