University of Worcester Takes Control of Wolves BBL Franchise -

University of Worcester Takes Control of Wolves BBL Franchise

The University of Worcester has created UW Worcester Wolves as its subsidiary company, to undertake ownership of the BBL club.

The news comes off the back of the club’s most successful season in the BBL, in which they won their first pieces of silverware in the top flight with an historic double.

Director and Head-Coach Paul James is currently assembling next season’s squad, but is having to deal with the blow of losing league MVP Zaire Taylor, who left to join London.

Speaking on the University’s website, Roger Clarke, now the President of the Club said: “Having privately owned the Worcester Wolves Basketball Club for fifteen years, and after our most successful ever season saw us win the British Basketball League (BBL) Trophy and BBL Play-Off final – along with the British University Championships – last year, I have made the decision to transfer the franchise to the University of Worcester.

“The partnership with the University has been very successful, and I feel that now is the right time for the University to take ownership of the Club.

“The strength of the University, together with the University of Worcester Arena and the new club structure, will provide a platform to launch the Club into a new era of development. I am excited to accept my new role as President and to closely continue my working partnership with Mick Donovan, the new Managing Director, to enable us to cement a more sustainable, stronger future for the Club.”

At the beginning of last season, Worcester Wolves moved into the University of Arena, which has played host to a number of international matches played by the Great Britain national teams.

The club has also enjoyed a successful link with the university basketball team with several first-team players helping the team to victory in the BUCS Championships, which they have dominated in recent years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *