Great Britain Senior Women Preliminary Squad Announced -

Great Britain Senior Women Preliminary Squad Announced

Head coach Damian Jennings has named his 20 player preliminary squad for the upcoming EuroBasket Women 2013 campaign.

The lineup includes a blend of experience from players in the 2012 Olympic squad as well as some fresh young talent, all of whom will gather for the first time since London in training camp at Surrey Sports Park.

“The EuroBasket creates a great test for us post-Olympics and we have been able to select a real blend of experience and youthful talent,” said Jennings. “With the early timing of EuroBasket there will always be challenges but all the GB performance staff are looking forward to working with the selected squad and preparing for this great summer ahead.”

Five of GB’s best youth players have been selected for the first time specifically with an eye to 2020, including Ella Clark, Renee Busch, Christina Gaskin, Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby and 17 year old Cheridene Green. In another first, two of these players, Clark and Gaskin, are graduates from the Regional Institute of Basketball at Barking Abbey.

The squad will assemble on 4 May 2013 to commence their preparations for the summer ahead where they face a tough EuroBasket challenge against Olympic silver medallists, France, Serbia and Latvia for their first round games at the tournament.

Full details of the 20 players in the preliminary squad are:

Great Britain Senior Women Preliminary Squad

Dominique Allen, Meccanica Nova Bologna, Italy
Rose Anderson, Cercle Sainte Paul Rezé Basket, France
Renee Busch, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Kim Butler, Unattached
Ella Clark, Long Beach State University, USA
Stef Collins, Cardiff Archers, UK
Temi Fagbenle, Harvard University, USA
Stephanie Gandy, Sheffield Hatters, UK
Christina Gaskin, Fordham University, USA
Cheridene Green, Sevenoaks Suns, UK
Chantelle Handy, Mersin, Turkey
Georgia Jones, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Jo Leedham, Bourges, France
Roz Mason, Barking Abbey, UK
Erin McGarrachan, Houston Baptist University, USA
Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby, Loughborough Student Riders, UK
Kristie Sheils, Calgary University, Canada
Azania Stewart, Bacsbasket, Hungary
Lauren Thomas-Johnson, Sheffield Hatters, England
Rachael Vanderwal, University of Limerick, Ireland


Image Credit: Mansoor Ahmed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *