EB Announce Players/Coaches of the Year 09/10 - Hoopsfix.com

EB Announce Players/Coaches of the Year 09/10

Stefan Gill

Magic's Stefan Gill was named as the EBL D1 Player of the Year

England Basketball yesterday announced their EBL Players/Coaches of the Year 09/10, with winners being selected based on votes from clubs/coaches from each respective league (clubs could not vote for a player or coach from their own team).

In Division One Men, a stellar season averaging 23.8ppg, 3.9rpg and 4.2apg thus far (with a season high 40 vs Derby in February) saw Manchester Magic’s Stefan Gill named as the Player of the Year. It was league winner’s Derby Trailblazer’s coach Clarence Wiggins who got the nod for Coach of the Year though, leading his team to a 17-5 record.

It was a family affair in Division Two, with the Division Two Men’s Player of the Year being named as league winner’s Durham Wildcat’s Paul Elderkin,whilst Coach of the Year being father Dave Elderkin from the same team. Paul is averaging 21.7ppg  and easily leading every league in the country in dunks per game, he is not only one of the most exciting players to watch but far more than just a dunker (look out for a Hoopsfixtape coming soon).

In Division One Women, Australian Natalie Stafford of Barking Abbey won the title of Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring at 25.8ppg and fifth in assists at 3 per game, she was also third in field goal percentage, shooting at above a 60% clip (60.2%). The Sheffield Hatters’ near perfect season (19-1) resulted in head coach Vanessa Ellis being named as Coach of the Year.

Full 2009/10 EBL Senior Players and Coaches of the Year

League Player of the Year Coach of the Year
Division One Men Stefan Gill Clarence Wiggins
(Manchester Magic) (Derby Trailblazers)
Division One Women Natalie Stafford Vanessa Ellis
(Barking Abbey) (City of Sheffield Hatters)
Division Two Men Paul Elderkin Dave Elderkin
(Durham Wildcats) (Durham Wildcats)
Division Two Women
Melissa Hills Diego Fernandez
(North) (Bury Blue Devils) (Sefton Starlights)
Division Two Women Emilie Ravn Sarah Wagstaff
(Midlands – South West) (Bristol Storm) (UWIC Archers II)
Division Two Women Francesca Morton Phil Waghorn
(Midlands – South East) (Brighton & Sussex Students) (Brighton & Sussex Students)
Division Three Men Garnet Gayle Chris Mellor
(North) (City of Sheffield Saints) (Bradford Dragons)
Division Three Men Andy Harper Jack Majewski
(South) (London United-Richmond College) (London United-Richmond College)
Division Four Men Jason Swaine Eduardo Perez y Medina
(North) (Huddersfield Heat) (Huddersfield Heat)
Division Four Men Oriol Fernandez Stephen Barnes
(Midlands) (Coalville Cougars) (Birmingham Mets)
Division Four Men Bud Johnston Sylvain Donneaud
(South West) (University of Chichester Thunder) (Team Solent)
Division Four Men Christopher Hanson Richard Surrey
(South East) (Lambeth Lakers) (Sevenoaks Suns)

Players of the Year Runners-Up

D1 Men – David Attewell (Derby)
D1 Women – Stef Collins (UWIC)
D2 Men – Scott Morton (Durham)
D2 Women (North) – Charlene Ward (Stockport)
D2 Women (Midlands/SW) – Annabel Hardiman (UWIC II)
D2 Women (Midlands/SE) – Lisa Roberts (Leicester Cannons)
D3 Men (North) – Vance Silcott (Bradford Dragons)
D3 Men (South) – Jonathan Lavinier (Eastside)
D4 Men (North) – Kyle Styan (Huddersfield)
D4 Men (Midlands) – Guy Renton (Nottingham Hoods)
D4 Men (SW) – Anthony Rutter (Solent)
D4 Men (SE) – Daniel Turner (Sevenoaks)

Coaches of the Year Runners-Up
D1 Men – Tom Kambouris (Taunton)
D1 Women – Len Busch (Sevenoaks)
D2 Men – Dan Richards (Mansfield)
D2 Women (North) – Ian Richards (Mansfield) / Aldo Cervi (Stockport)
D2 Women (Midlands/SW) – CJ Lee (Solent)
D2 Women (Midlands/SE) – Anita Curtis (Leicester Cannons)
D3 Men (North) – Garnet Gayle (Sheffield Saints)
D3 Men (South) – David Lavinier (Eastside)
D4 Men (North) – Ian Hewitt (Durham II)
D4 Men (Midlands) – Paul Christensen (Team Gloster)
D4 Men (SW) – Matt Analts (Bath)
D4 Men (SE) – Richard Surrey (Sevenoaks)

A Few Random Thoughts

  • If Derby’s Dave Attewell didn’t get Player of the Year as part of a league winning side, I’d throw Leeds Carnegie’s Adrian Fenyn into the mix after averaging 24.7ppg, 11.6ppg on 63% shooting (!) and finishing tied with Manchester for the second best record in the league (I don’t take notice of basket difference).
  • I’ve been saying it all season, but Durham Wildcat’s Paul Elderkin and Scott Morton make one of the best 1-2 combos in the country, no surprise to see them get Player of the Year and runner up respectively in D2.
  • Gutted I haven’t had a chance to see all the players listed in action this season, but hoping to get around a lot more next season ;)
  • Andrew Harper has been tearing up D3 this season averaging 27.5ppg on 62% 2pt field goal shooting and 43.6% 3point shooting. I’ve seen him play once this season and he killed it.
  • Not a massive surprise to see Jason Swaine (Huddersfield Heat) and Bud Johnston (University of Chichester Thunder) getting honours based on their statistics on the season. 1 and 2 in scoring and both top 5 in assists in D4. Haven’t seen Swaine, but Bud Johnston could tear up D1 with the same sorta numbers in my opinion.

What do you think?

Agree with the selections? Or do you feel someone has been snubbed? Drop a comment and let me know!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *