Matt Morgan lands BBL MVP in 2023-24 season awards -

Matt Morgan lands BBL MVP in 2023-24 season awards

Matt Morgan has been named as the 2023-24 British Basketball League MVP to complete the end-of-season awards, as voted by the team coaches and captains.

The London Lions star helped his side to the regular season title with averages of 19.2 points per game along with 2.9 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 1.2 steals in 30 league appearances.

“It is truly an honour to be receiving this award,” Morgan said via release. “To be named the MVP in such a talented league is an amazing accomplishment.

“I want to thank the British Basketball League first for this acknowledgment. I also want to thank my teammates, coaches, and staff from the London Lions! I can’t put into words how much all of you mean to me and can’t express how thankful I am for each and every one of you.”

Morgan was accompanied in the Team of the Year by teammate Gabe Olaseni (12.4 PPG, 5.8 RPG, 61% FG) with the duo having also both earned All-First Team honours in the EuroCup this season. Cheshire Phoenix star Aaryn Rai (18.5 PPG, 7.7 RPG, 3.8 APG) was rewarded for an impressive debut season in the BBL, while Caledonia Gladiators’ Pat Whelan (14.9 PPG, 4.2 RPG, 4.4 APG) and Teddy Allen (22.7 PPG, 6.4 RPG, 2.4 APG) – who made an instant impact for Leicester Riders – were also included.

The only changes in the All-British lineup were the additions of Leicester Riders general Kimbal Mackenzie (13.2 PPG, 5.2 APG) and another London representative in Tarik Phillip (9.1 PPG, 3.8 RPG, 3.9 APG).

London’s Josh Sharma headlined the All-Defensive Team as the first-ever Defensive Player of the Year with 1.6 blocks per game, while Phillip made another appearance. Manchester Giants’ Jamell Anderson earned his fifth selection in the lineup with spots also for Laquincy Rideau of Cheshire Phoenix and Caledonia Gladiators big man Clifton Moore.

There were also two more new awards handed out, and both went to Phoenix players with Maceo Jack (16.7 PPG, 4.2 RPG) picking up the Most Improved Player, while Cam Christon (11.2 PPG, 3.4 RPG) was voted as the Sixth Player of the Year.

Ben Thomas also beat Lions’ Petar Bozic to the Ed Percival Coach of the Year award after leading his Cheshire side to a third place finish in the regular season as well as beating London in the BBL Trophy final, and reaching the season finale at The O2.

Full list of BBBL awards:

Player of the Year – Matt Morgan (London Lions)
Team of the Year – Matt Morgan, Gabe Olaseni (London Lions), Aaryn Rai (Cheshire Phoenix), Pat Whelan (Caledonia Gladiators), Teddy Allen (Leicester Riders)
British Team of the Year – Kimbal Mackenzie (Leicester Riders), Aaryn Rai (Cheshire Phoenix), Pat Whelan (Caledonia Gladiators), Tarik Phillip, Gabe Olaseni (London Lions)
Defensive Team of the Year – Laquincy Rideau (Cheshire Phoenix), Jamell Anderson (Manchester Giants), Tarik Phillip, Josh Sharma (London Lions), Clifton Moore (Caledonia Gladiators)
Most Improved Player – Maceo Jack (Cheshire Phoenix)
Defensive Player of the Year – Josh Sharma (London Lions)
Sixth Player of the Year – Cam Christon (Cheshire Phoenix)
Coach of the Year – Ben Thomas (Cheshire Phoenix)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *