Charnwood hold off CoLA to take EABL title -

Charnwood hold off CoLA to take EABL title

Charnwood College 2024 EABL Champions

Charnwood College Riders won their fourth EABL title but were made to work for it by City of London Academy – Southwark, as they held off a late rally to win 64-59 on Wednesday evening at the National Basketball Performance Centre in Manchester.

Oscar Curran picked up MVP, finishing with nine points, five rebounds 10 assists, and four steals, meanwhile Lewis Malcolm had a 15-point, 11-rebound double-double, Lewis Gleason had 14 and Edward Oniya had seven points, 10 rebounds, four assists and four blocks.

It was all Charnwood for the majority of the contest, extending their lead to as many as 18 in the second period, and heading into the final quarter up 15.

However, CoLA refused to go down without a fight, pulling off a 16-3 run and making it a game heading into the final minutes where Charnwood were able to seal victory.

South Conference U17 Player of the Year Khyle Capanzana had a 20 point, 10 rebound double-double, as CoLA Captain Mou Wol (11 points) was the only other player to reach double digits.

Box score.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *