Teams set as Hoopsfix Pro-Am prepares for Brixton debut -

Teams set as Hoopsfix Pro-Am prepares for Brixton debut

This weekend will see the return of the Hoopsfix Pro-Am Summer League for the second consecutive year, taking place every Sunday from June 18th until July 16th at Brixton Recreation Centre, South London, for the first time.

Sponsored by and Stance Socks, names set to suit up once again in the men’s category include the likes of GB’s Akwasi Yeboah, Carl Wheatle, Josh Steel, Amin Adamu, Jordan Williams, Kofi Josephs, and Matthew Bryan-Amaning while there will also be anticipated debuts of Andrew Lawrence, Justin Robinson, Devon van Oostrum, Kavell Bigby-Williams, Taiwo Badmus, Tayo Ogedengbe plus freshly graduated Utah State duo RJ Eytle-Rock and Dan Akin, and last year’s MVP Peter Turay.

The event is NCAA certified to allow Division 1 student-athletes to play, as Ade Adebayo (UC Davis), Amari Williams (Drexel) and Molly Lavin (American) are expected to debut.

On the women’s side, a number of returners include last year’s MVP Isi Ozzy-Momodu who is back after a year at JUCO, along with the lines of Shanice Beckford-Norton, Melita Emmanuel-Carr, Shequila Joseph, Jenelle Grant, and Gabby Nikitinaite, while it will be debuts for Georgia Gayle, Leah McDerment, Kyla Nelson, and Lavinia Da Silva plus Hoopsfix All-Star Classic MVP Fats Janneh.

Spectator tickets are free and can be registered for here.

The five week summer league will bring together the best of British basketball, targeted at elite level players, some of whom are rarely seen in organised competition in the UK.

Taking place every Sunday from June 18th to July 16th from 10:30am-6pm, the Pro-Am will have eight teams in the men’s competition, split into two pools of four, and four women’s teams in a single group.

Teams will play all teams in their group through the first three weeks (the ‘regular season’) to determine seeding heading into the playoffs in Week 4 and 5, where the men will go cross-pool.

In the men’s competition the eight teams are:

Pool A
Glacier Boys (GM: Rikki Broadmore)
Surrey Scorchers (GM: Lloyd Gardner)
Hoopspace (GM: Joel Ufele)
OT Boyz (GM: Ebuka Ekwegh)

Pool B
Vet Status (GM: Elvisi Dusha)
Ankd (GM: Travis Edwards)
Thames Valley Cavaliers (GM: Robert Banks)
London United (GM: Jack Majewski)

In the women’s competitions due to not having any GMs, the 60+ players that registered are being managed directly by Hoopsfix, and have been split into four teams like last year:


Tickets are now available and can be registered for here.

Media can apply for accreditation here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *