Derby Trailblazers Take National Trophy Title -

Derby Trailblazers Take National Trophy Title

Derby Trailblazers National Trophy Winners

Derby Trailblazers won their first ever National Trophy title this weekend, after rolling past Bristol Academy Flyers 87-60 in the final.

Rishi Kakad was named MVP, finishing with 23 points, 5 rebounds and 4 assists, whilst 1994 born Joshua Guddemi had 10 points and 1992 born Rema Lascelles had 4 points, 10 rebounds and 8 assists for Derby.

After the win, Derby head coach Jamie Maudsley said:

“The guys have worked really hard for it. We’ve worked hard in practice; we’ve done a lot of homework and it paid off today with a really good performance.

“I think that’s the best we’ve played since I’ve been in charge. It’s a huge win for the team and I hope it will benefit the club as a whole as well. The challenge for us now is to build on this success throughout the final third of the league season, because there are two other pieces of silverware still up for grabs.”

Bristol were led by 12 points from Douglas McLaughlin-Williams whilst Greg Streete and Davis Bowne both added 10 points. It is the Flyers’ second loss in a final this season, after already having come up short in the National Cup.

Box score.

Did you get to the game? Thoughts?

Image Credit: Alan Mousley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *