England Basketball Announce 2010/11 Players/Coaches of the Year - Hoopsfix.com

England Basketball Announce 2010/11 Players/Coaches of the Year

Niko Scott Reading RocketsEngland Basketball have announced the EBL Players/Coaches of the Year 2010/11, with winners being selected based on votes from clubs/coaches from each respective league (clubs could not vote for a player or coach from their own team).

Reading Rockets’ Niko Scott (pictured) has been named EBL Division 1 Player of the Year after averaging 20.7 points (3rd in the league), 4.6 rebounds and 3.7 assists (6th in the league) per game whilst leading the Rockets to the championship and National Trophy title. The American guard completed his first season in the EBL under Head Coach Samit Nuruzade who received the Coach of the Year honour.

In Division 2, there was only ever one option, Tees Valley’s Ralph Bucci who put up ridiculous numbers on the season. Averaging a league leading 32.6 points, along with 13.1 rebounds (also 1st in the league) and 6.1 assists per game (2nd) on 62% 2-point field goal shooting and 45% three point shooting, Bucci led Tees Valley to the D2 semi finals before getting knocked out by Westminster Warriors.

Barking Abbey Leopard Niamh Dwyer took home the honours for Division 1 Women after leading the league in scoring (22.7 points) and finishing fourth in assists (4 per outing) whilst also grabbing 6.5 rebounds per game.

Find a full list of EBL players and coaches of the year below:

Full England Basketball Players and Coaches of the Year 2010/11

League Player of the Year Coach of the Year
D1 Men Niko Scott
(Reading Rockets)
Samit Nuruzade
(Reading Rockets)
D1 Women Niamh Dwyer
(Barking Abbey Leopards)
Deirdre Hayes
(Team Northumbria)
D2 Men Ralph Bucci
(Tees Valley Mohawks)
Chris Mellor
(Bradford Dragons)
D2 Women
Leah Rush
(Durham Bobcats)
Jim Carnegie
(Manchester Mystics)
D2 Women
(Midlands-South West)
Emilie Ravn
(Bristol Storm)
CJ Lee
(Solent Suns)
D2 Women
(Midlands-South East)
Jordan Elliott-King
(Wellingborough Phoenix)
Barry Powell
(Wellingborough Phoenix)
D3 Men
Richard Windle
(Sheffield Sabres)
Stephen Barnes
(Birmingham Mets)
D3 Men
Joseph Womack
(Glamorgan Gladiators)
Frank Lamptey
(London Westside)
D4 Men
Jason Swaine
(Huddersfield Heat)
Delme Herriman
(Warrington Wolves)
D4 Men
Elliott Sentance
(Leicester Warriors II)
Dave Greenaway
(Coalville Cougars)
D4 Men
(South West)
Adam Rickwood
(Taunton Tigers)
Gary Carter
(Taunton Tigers)
D4 Men
(South East)
Karolis Stepanavicius
(Canary Wharf Baltic Staff)
Sam Stiller
(Newham Neptunes)


  • It needs to be stated again that Ralph Bucci’s numbers are ridiculous.
  • BA London Leopard Ousman Krubally was runner up for the D1 player of the year (averaging 22.3 points and 13.2 rebounds whilst getting the Leopards to the final fours), whilst last year’s D3 player of the year Andy Harper was D2 runner up (25.4 points, 7.7 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game).
  • Worth noting the voting took place before the Final Fours happened, so are predominantly based on the regular season…
  • Prospect watch: Good to see Elliot Sentance (1994 born) recognised in Division 4 with Leicester Warriors II. Sentance is currently out in Cherbourg with the England Under 18’s looking to prove himself for the final cut.
  • At the opposite end of the age scale, both veterans Jason Swaine and Delme Herriman still getting it done! Look to see an interview with Delme Herriman on Hoopsfix in the near future.

What do you think? Any surprises? Anyone been overlooked? Drop a comment!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *