GB U20 Final Roster Selected for European Championships -

GB U20 Final Roster Selected for European Championships

Rosie Hynes GB U20sHead coach Matt Johnson has selected his final 12 player roster for the Great Britain Under-20 women’s squad who will be travelling to Bulgaria next week to compete in the Under-20 European Championships.

Johnson and his staff selected the squad following six weeks in camp which included four international fixtures. The final roster sees the return of under-20 player, Rosie Hynes who hopes to lead a new group of players back into Division A.

The 2013 squad sees Hynes joined by seven first year under-20 women including Scottish duo Hilary Wood and Claire Paxton, as well as England players, Flo Ward, Melita Emanuel-Carr, Billie Lucas, Kaitlyn Lewis and Whitney Allen. The Squad is rounded out with four England under-18 women; Megan Lewis, Leah McDerment, Shequila Joseph and Harriet Ottewill Soulsby who started her summer with the senior GB women’s team.

Head coach Matt Johnson, commented on the final 12: “After six weeks of excellent preparation we are now pleased that we are able to announce the final 12 players to represent the GB under-20s at the 2013 European Championships.

“Over the last six weeks we have experienced some incredible characters, some frustrating injuries, some extraordinary efforts and more importantly a consistent enthusiasm and energy to get better from all players that have made contributions to the GB under-20 team.

“I would personally like to pay thanks to all the players that have made this journey a very special one to this point.

“The weight of importance is most certainly carried with us as we now feel ready to go into what promises to be a very testing tournament in Bulgaria.”

The final 12 GB under-20 women’s players are:

Florence Ward
Megan Lewis
Rosie Hynes
Billie Lucas
Leah McDerment
Hilary Wood
Melita Emanuel-Carr
Shequila Joseph
Whitney Allen
Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby
Kaitlyn Lewis
Claire Paxton


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *