BJAUK Announce 09/10 Award Winners -

BJAUK Announce 09/10 Award Winners

Joe Chapman

Joe Chapman was named the BJAUK's Player of the Year

The newly formed Basketball Journalists Association announced their award winners for the 09/10 season yesterday, with Newcastle Eagles duo Joe Chapman and Fabulous Flournoy being named respectively as the Player and Coach of the Year.

Here is the full rundown of the award winners:

BJAUK Awards Winners 2009-10

Player of the Year: 1. Joe Chapman, 2. Mike Cook, 3. Rob Yanders
(Others receiving votes, in order, were: Charles Smith, EJ Harrison, Jason Johnson, Reggie Bratton, Jessie Sapp, Shawn Myers)

Coach of the Year: 1. Fab Flournoy, 2. Atiba Lyons, 3. Paul Smith
(Others: Dave Titmuss, Rob Paternostro, Sterling Davis, Tony Garbelotto)

Pete Jacques Award for Best British Player in the BBL: 1. Tafari Toney, 2. Darius Defoe, 3. Olu Babalola
(Others: Anthony Martin, Sam Cricelli, James Jones, Mike Martin, Perry Lawson, Ibrahim Gariba, Andrew Bridge, Drew Sullivan)

International Player of the Year: 1. Luol Deng, 2. Joel Freeland, 3. Matthew Bryan-Amaning
(Others: Andrew Betts, Justin Robinson, Nate Reinking, Pops Mensah-Bonsu, Robert Archibald)


  • Though I have seen hardly any of the BBL this season, I would have thought Worthing’s Sam Cricelli would have finished a little higher after an extremely solid rookie season on the south east coast.
  • Great to see an award in memory of the great, late, Pete Jaques.
  • What do you think? Let me know in the comments box!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *