Women's NBL division winners announced following cancellation of 19/20 season - Hoopsfix.com

Women’s NBL division winners announced following cancellation of 19/20 season

Ipswich 2020 U18 Women's National Cup

Ipswich have been crowned the 2019-20 WNBL Division 1 league winners, with Worcester Wolves & Cardiff Met Archers claiming WNBL Division 2 North & South respectively, following the cancellation of the 2019-20 season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ipswich finished 15-2 on the season and just pipped Anglia Ruskin University to the post, as Head Coach Nick Drane made it clear it is hard to claim the title amidst the circumstances.

“While we will enjoy this moment, we do not feel like we have fully earned the title of National Champions,” he said. “There was still basketball to be played and we genuinely feel that at least part of this belongs to Anglia Ruskin – it’s been a great battle with them all season. This is not how we wanted to be crowned Champions. But, after the season we have had, with so much bad luck with injuries, maybe we deserve this”.

Champions were decided by giving each team one point for games remaining in Senior competitions and two points per team for junior fixtures, whilst games that were postponed before March 13 and had not been rearranged were voided.

Basketball England CEO Stewart Kellett said: “After an uncertain and turbulent few weeks, we are pleased to announce the final standings for the NBL.

“All our leagues represent the amazing efforts of players, coaches, officials, volunteers, parents and guardians. The effect of the COVID-19 has had an extraordinary impact on us all and we were determined to find the fairest way to conclude the 2019/20 season.

“I hope you’ll join me in congratulating our league winners and recognise the efforts of our basketball community during what has been an unprecedented time.”

The following Senior Women and junior girl league winners have now been confirmed:

WNBL Division 1
Ipswich Basketball

WNBL Division 2 North
Worcester Wolves

WNBL Division 2 South
Cardiff Met Archers

U18 Women Premier
Reading Rockets

U16 Girls Premier North
Oaklands College Wolves

U16 Girls Premier South
Newham Youngbloods

U14 Girls Premier South
Richmond Knights

U14 Girls Premier North
Manchester Magic

It goes without saying that there will be no Play-offs in either the senior or junior divisions, and thus no Play-off champions.

Individual end of season awards will be announced the week commencing 6 April. You can see the complete final standings on the NBL web pages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *