Riders Dominate Molten All-BBL Defensive Team of the Year - Hoopsfix.com

Riders Dominate Molten All-BBL Defensive Team of the Year

Four Leicester Riders players have been named in the Molten All-BBL Defensive Team of the Year alongside Glasgow Rocks’ Kieron Achara.

British trio Conner Washington, Jamell Anderson and GB captain Drew Sullivan are joined by American forward TrayVonn Wright in making the team after being recognised for their efforts by the league’s coaches.

It is the first time that a team has had four selections in the All-BBL Defensive Team of the Year. The previous record of three players was set by Newcastle Eagles in 2009-10 before being equalled by the Riders in the 2012-13 season.

Riders set a new record for the Lowest Points Allowed per game average in the BBL, and there’s also a spot on the bench for two more players with Neil Watson and Tyler Bernardini rewarded.

Washington and Anderson have earned their growing reputations through their defensive efforts, while Sullivan makes the team for a fourth straight year, and sixth overall, with Wright proving there’s a whole other side to his game.

Achara stops the Riders from having a full set of players in the DTOY having led the Rocks at both ends of the floor this season to cement his spot in the team for the second year in a row.

It’s worth noting that no Newcastle Eagles players make the cut despite being one of the best defensive teams in the league again this season.

Also making the bench are Sheffield Sharks duo Jerrold Brooks and Mike Tuck as well as Leeds Force’s Kwan Waller, Bristol Flyers’ Daniel Edozie and Jay Couisnard, of the Worcester Wolves.

All-BBL Defensive Team of the Year:
Conner Washington, Jamell Anderson, Drew Sullivan, TrayVonn Wright (all Riders) & Kieron Achara (Rocks). (Bench): Neil Watson, Tyler Bernardini (both Riders), Jerrold Brooks, Mike Tuck (both Sharks), Kwan Waller (Force), Daniel Edozie (Flyers) & Jay Couisnard (Wovles)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *