Sheffield Sharks Retain BBL Cup -

Sheffield Sharks Retain BBL Cup

The Sheffield Sharks became the first BBL team to win back-to-back Cup titles yesterday, as they routed league leaders Mersey Tigers 93-66 in the BBL Cup final at the NIA in Birmingham.

The Tigers never got it going from the outset, being down 10 after the first quarter, and 51-25 at the half as the Sharks tore up the script. The loss of Nate Reinking undoubtedly hurt the Mersey side, as did their 2/18 three point shooting (11%).

Steve D’Agostino was named MVP, going 8/10 from beyond the arc to finish with a game high 35 points, whilst Mike Tuck added 18 points and 7 rebounds for the Sharks.

David Aliu and Drew Sullivan led Mersey with 21 and 17 points respectively, but got little help from anyone else.

Earlier on in the day, the BBL England Select team routed Wales 104-65 led by Stefan Gill’s and Tintin Watts’ 16 points a piece whilst Newcastle Eagle Kadiri Richard won the BBL dunk contest.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *