Maccabi Take the Euroleague Crown in OT – Tyrese Rice Takes Over, Top 5 Plays!

Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv were crowned the 2014 Euroleague champions on Sunday, beating Real Madrid 98-86 in overtime.

After hitting the game-winning layup in the semifinals, Tyrese Rice, who scored 21 of his 26 points in the fourth quarter and overtime, picked up MVP honours.

In an instant classic of a game, Madrid led by as many as 11 points in the first half, but the second half alone featured 19 lead changes and seven ties. A pair of free throws from Bourousis with 21 second left in the regulation sent the game into overtime, 73-73.

In the extra period, Rice scored 8 consecutive Maccabi points for 77-81, giving the Israeli champs the lead for good.

Besides Rice’s heroics, Alex Tyus collected 12 points, 11 rebounds and 3 blocks, while Ricky Hickman had 18 points, Devin Smith hit for 15 and David Blu, who won his second Euroleague crown with Maccabi after the 2004 title, added 14 points.

The freshly-crowned Euroleague season bwin MVP Sergio Rodriguez led Madrid with 21 points while Rudy Fernandez had 15 points and 8 rebounds in defeat. The record eight-time champion Real Madrid lost in its second consecutive final and is still looking for its first Euroleague title since 1995.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.